Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Longnstrange Date: Apr 12, 2010 3:12pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: The Review System Sucks

FIVE stars to rate a Dead recording!? And what are we rating? Show? Recording? Venue? Experience? My goddess, heads are fighting because of this. We have to change this. We must have a ten point for performance, ten point for recording, and a space for text(stories of tripping in the mustard and such)rating system. I am going to go out on a limb and say that almost all of us can agree(no matter age or era pref) that the Dead experience requires more than five stars to rate. I guess there is the argument for a one star system- either Yes or No to the show- they were on or not kind of a thing. But other than that, we all need more stars to rate this stuff,no? How can we change this?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diamondhead Date: Apr 13, 2010 10:13am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

Hey, Dennis follows the 100 scale. That allows for more intimate and obsessive analysis for which we are all famous for. That's good enough for me.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:00pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

L&S: you raise a good point, one that has been debated here for years as you can imagine.

I am in line with you as I usually think of four components to a show recording.

First, simple quality of the recording. EG, amt of hiss, wow, flutter--straight up description of the quality of the recording. Here is where the post the other day about the extremely high quality of recordings of some late 70s and early 80s shows made an excellent point.

Second, mix. As we early era types know, too often TC is low in the mix; Bob as well at times, causing difficulties for the musically challenged among us, with me at the top of that list, in our attempts to sort thru the overall sound to distinguish the different instruments, not to mention the fact that vocals are often too low in the mix.

Third, the "show". EG, we generally agree 8-6-71 was a "great" show, as was 10-12-68, and my fav in this regard is 6-14-68: it scores very poorly on issues # 1, and even # 2, above, BUT scores so highly on this level (# 3), at least for an early era fan such as myself, that this must be factored in...

Fourth, "experience". Now, this can be personal, as in you were there, but it can also be factors such as technical difficulties (eg, in 12-7-68 when they stop playing due to some sort of sound problem on stage). Or perhaps an unhappy crowd, or poor venue (I realize I am lumping alot of apples and oranges here, but you get the general idea).

There could be other factors, but those four, for me, mean that a simplistic overall rating of 5 stars just doesn't cut it, except with lots of addt'l explanation and what have you (eg, 6-14-68 might get a high mark based on issue # 3, even though issues # 1 & 2 cause it to be marked down; this might result in two shows that varying along these four axes to be scored the same (say, "four stars") for completely different reasons...

That is a problem. But just expanding the scale doesn't get around it; we need different categories, I think...not necessarily the four I just outlined, but something like that...eh?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: angular Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:10pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

You're fooling yourself. We're living in a dictatorship. A self-perpetuating autocracy in which the working classes--
I told you. We're an anarcho-syndicalist commune. We take it in turns to act as a sort of executive officer for the week. But all the decision of that officer have to be ratified at a special bi-weekly meeting-- By a simple majority in the case of purely internal affairs,-- But by a two-thirds majority in the case of more major--

Well, how did you become king then?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: craven714 Date: Apr 12, 2010 8:39pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

because he doesnt have shit all over him

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Mandojammer Date: Apr 13, 2010 9:19am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

Listen -- strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony.

I mean, if I went around sayin' I was an empereror just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me they'd put me away!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Apr 12, 2010 9:25pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

lmao!!!


(great reference!! havent watched that in long time)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: stealyourwife Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:04pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

Yeah! and i want an amp that goes to 11!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: jglynn1.2 Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:11pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks



It's very very special . . .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbVKWCpNFhY

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: deadpolitics Date: Apr 12, 2010 5:36pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

Why don't you just make 10 louder and make 10 be the top number and make that a little louder... ?

Just listen for a minute, the sustain...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oB6zw6RSZzU

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:08pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

a "half" option would help...i.e. 3 1/2 stars instead of 4...the biggest problem is too many people rating a show a 5 b/c they were there and had fun even tho' the show objectively was subpar, and those who ignore the quality of a recording in their review or just rate the recording quality and not the performance instead of combining all such elements in a review.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Dudley Dead Date: Apr 13, 2010 8:00am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

Totally agree ! I want to get a , say , late period show , I look to see the negative , less that 5 star reviews . Not that I always agree with them, but those reviews might be a little more "sober" to faults of the show , and what was actully good .
I also use the much more grumpy "Tapers Compendium" books .

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: stealyourwife Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:17pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

i think it's fine how it is...rate it 3 or 4 and state your reason in writing.

it would be good to filter out the "5 stars cuz i was there" ratings tho

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: RBNW....new and improved! Date: Apr 12, 2010 3:53pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

cliff has a 100 point system, doesnt he?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: user unknown Date: Apr 12, 2010 4:43pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

based on the wine grading system

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Apr 12, 2010 5:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: The Review System Sucks

I don't take the ratings seriously because some people rate everything a five and some people will rate something a 1 for just one glitch or because they have a stick up their arse.

I don't care. I have a good idea of what to expect from a given year and MOST truly five star ( or whatever highest rating you want to use ) shows I've probably heard or have, at least heard OF. I usually can find out on my own or else get turned on from folks here.

Also - there have been shows i have that I only listened to once or had forgotten about and I've put them on at the right moment so to speak and they blew me away, or vise versa shows I remember as being really good and not sounding as good. Just depends sometimes.

bottom line - I could care less about ratings